Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Question about this PCB antenna

Status
Not open for further replies.

Triode

I'm not an expert on RF design. So I'm going off of this reference design to use this chip.

So the guide, pages 5-7 (copied below) seems pretty straight forward. Cut out a 5mm x 10mm opening in the board, run your traces to the antenna pins on the chip.

My question is, does the outside size not matter or am I missing it? If this is to scale it looks like it's about 2.5 mm wider than the opening on both sides in their drawing. If it is flexible what does it's size effect?

And in addition, does anyone have a guide they can suggest for PCB antennas that would cover ones that work for this kind of RFID? They are all 860-960 MHz chips.

In case anyone found this looking for similar devices, the two 860-960 MHz chips with I2C I have found that I've been able to find in stock (though not in many places) have been the LXMS2HACNF-165 from Murata mentioned in this thread, and the SL3S4011FHK/SL3S4021FHK from NXP. If anyone knows of more, please let me know. These both seem to be deprecated.

Here is the datasheet in question

1579144634780.png

1579144653336.png

1579144668546.png