Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Proper Cable for Microphones

Status
Not open for further replies.

seagull369

Hi everyone. Just signed up to the forum.... I'm a bit of a noob to electronics, so please be kind! =)

I'm making a project using a microphone element and wanted to know what would be an acceptable cable to use with it, so I don't lose much in the way of sound quality. The microphone I'm using is one I got from Jameco found here. It has a 2.2kohm impedance and the cable run would be about 10ft. This isn't for a hifi setup or anything, just a personal listening device I'm trying to make.

I have some extra coax cable and RCA cable laying around I thought about using, but not sure if either would be acceptable.

Any thoughts?

Thanks for responding, Nigel.

I forgot when I was typing I'll be using 4 mics, each on 4 separate runs, which will make for a total of 40ft of wire. Unfortunately, I don't have that much RCA cable. I do have that much coax, but it's a bit stiffer than I'd like and the shielding is aluminum, which complicates the soldering process.

How might telephone line- 4 conductor- work? I have tons of it. Would twisting 2 pairs of it together for the + mic terminal and 2 pair for the - make it work any better?

The mics will be on separate channels and only 1 will be operating at one given time, if that matters.

If you have independent preamps it would be best to do the runs from their outputs and keep them close to the mics.