Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

project im working on trying to find the best way to do it

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jeff_5_7

ok well first im new to all of this but im working on somthing that i need help with. I need to find out how to transmit a signal wirelessly. OK so i will have a circuit with a temperature sensor and a pressure switch i need it to where when the temperature sensor reads between 97 and 103 degrees and the pressure switch is active it sends a signal wirelessly to a reader. I hope that makes sense its kind of confusing for me. all this is going in a small space but the singal only needs to go about 4 feet i was thinking about RFID but i dont know if it would work. Mabey bluetooth???? help me please

All you need to send it a TRUE/FALSE signal for whether or not the temperature is between 97 degrees and 103 degrees? ANd a second ACTIVE/INACTIVE signal for the pressure sensor?

Nothing else? I would think IR would be your best bet. Bluetooth, and serial RF, and even RFID seem to be overkill and overcomplicated for something that is only sending two TRUE/FALSE signals. But after IR, RFID may be your best choice if you can find one that can operate at 4feet and allow you to manipulate the data being sent (RFID tends to be used with tags with static data rather than sending variable information and active RFID has ranges of hundreds of feet which is overkill, but passive RFID might not be able to reach 4 feet).

Last edited: