Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Programming PIC to generate square wave

Status
Not open for further replies.

elec123

Hi,

I am relatively new to programming so am looking for some advice...

I want to programme a PIC to produce a square wave with a period of 50us (f = 20kHz) and need to be able to set the on and off times of the square wave.

I need this as this will control an igbt's switching in a DC-DC boost converter.

What limited programming i have done has been on a 16f84 but looking at some datasheets i have found that the 16f877 has a PWM mode where i think it is possible to set the on and off times of the square wave.

What are people's opinions of this? would the 16f877 be a better choice?

I am planning on writing the code in assembler (MPLAB IDE), i'm trying to keep the code as simple as possible but would the use of interrupts be the best way to do it?

Any help or suggestions on the choice of PIC and implementation in the code would be very helpful.

Thanks

Unless you need lots of I/O then use a 16F628 or better still a 16F88. Both have the PWM module and an internal oscillator as well. Implementing any sort of SMPS is tricky with a pic, however, I vaguely remember a AN about it. Have a search on Microchips site for SMPS.

Mike.

You can use the 16F877(40-pin) but the 16F628A, which is 18-pin PIC to replace the old 16F84, has PWM too.