Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Processor Design Architecture

Status
Not open for further replies.
A little on my background and reason for this question.
I am an EEE engineer (wasted my college years as I didn't have any interest in electronics at that time ).
Then I got my first software engineering job, designing software for creating embedded hardware design ( which made me started hating software and loving hardware side of things ). And now I am slowly moving towards system design engineering.

I am working on integration of an arm based SOC with FPGA as of now. That's when I realized I need to get hold of my basics to be a better design engineer. I particularly got struck on memory address mappings done for processor to memory. I tried grasping it through material available on internet and got a basic understanding. But I seriously doubt that my perception of it is the correct one and hence stated some part of my understandings in the simplest possible manner I could (and have reserved the complexities for later posts ). Here I have presented the various processor architectures and my doubts related to each one of them. If someone could read through it and guide me through my mistakes, It would be a great help.

Here's the simplistic description which I have in my mind about the various architectures and their pros and cons:
For each of the architecture I have assumed that an address bus is 1 bit wide and data bus is 8 bit wide:

1) Harvard Architecture: