Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

portable amplifier help needed

Status
Not open for further replies.

mr smellnice

Has anyone seen those little guitar amps made out of cigarette packets? They have an input and output jack and a small (2"?) speaker - i'd like to try to make one (yes, i'm too tight fisted to pay for a new one at 25 quid!) and if anyone can help me with which bits i'd need exactly it would be much appreciated (now would be a good point to mention i'm a complete noob to electronics, though an enthusiastic one!)

thanks in advance

leroy

Have a look at the LM386 and TBA 820M data sheets. (Google for them.)

Both are simple to use, needing few external components.

The TBA820M will develop more power.

hey thanks a lot for your help - the Cmoy one looks great but the only problem is it doesn't contain a speaker (not that i could see anyway). the writer also mentions that it's not a good idea to build one if you're trying to save money unless you get it right first time - something i don't think will happen!

I downloaded the datasheets and now realise i am a complete newbie and need to do some homework first.

thanks again for the quick replies :D

The CMoy amp is designed to drive headphones. Its opamp doesn't have enough output power to drive a speaker (unless you tape the speaker to your ear).
The LM386 and the other one are power amps that are designed to drive a speaker.

Hi David,