Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

PicBasic Pro vs MikroBasic vs (SX/B or PBASIC)

Status
Not open for further replies.

tdg8934

Hello all - I need some help understanding PICs, etc. but here's my background first:

I have been using Parallax microcontrollers for a couple of years now starting with a BASIC STAMP 2 (using PBASIC) and later moving up to SX-28 / SX-48 using (SX/B) on their Professional Development Board (PDB).

https://www.parallax.com/detail.asp?product_id=45182

I have been very active on their forum contributing when I can. Most of my hobbiest projects involve LED matrixes and I have come up with some very cool projects:

**broken link removed**

**broken link removed**

**broken link removed**

**broken link removed**

**broken link removed**

**broken link removed**

However, I want to expand my horizons a little. As I see in Nuts and Volts Magazine that I subscribe to, are so many PIC articles and some with AVR, etc.

I am not a C programmer nor do I really want to learn assembly (maybe a little). I would like to stick with BASIC.

I was looking at PicBasic Pro but saw the $250 price tag and then I would need a development board and other associated products.

However, this morning I saw MikroBasic which is $150 or $100 if purchasing a development board like their EasyPIC4 and MikroBasic combination package which was $250 total together.