Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

PIC18F4 logic error?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dakta

First post here I'm afraid, stumbled across the site when googling for header84.asm (a header file from a book im studying - pic in practice which is apparently available to download but the link doesn't work).

Anyway, I'm stuck. I know a little assembly from college so it's not my first time playing with pics, but since it's been a while (and in all fairness we didn't learn much though I worked out the seven segs on the dev boards we were given on my own which was pretty cool) I thought i'd start from the beginning. Not a bad idea because I seem to be useless now!

So I bought myself a book, development board and got a copy of mplab, all seemed to be set. So I thought i'd start by teaching myself the header included in the book. So I typed it out and after a while I hit compile - errors.

Surprisingly enough, I used my initiative and solved them on my own. I'd messed up some formatting and it now compiles.

But does it work? No. I think it's a logic error of some sort but I really can't trap it!

Basically, the header included a subroutine to cause a one second delay. I made a quick example to set the output pins on porta to high, and then call the delay before setting them back again, call the delay and repeat.