Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

PIC UART Manchester in C help!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jsterz

Hi,

I'm still very new to PIC and have some some problem with RF module encode/decode programming. I understand how Manchester coding works thanks to Nigel's tutorial but i can not understand the ASM code, i have only learnt and done everything in C. i can right now get like 1 packet randomly, like 1 in 4. I would like to know what else i have to include in order to get it working at 100%.

Software: MPLAB IDE 8.40/Hi-TECH C compiler

Packet structure:...
Sync = 40bit(0x5555555555) // sync RF to correct frequency?
header = 8bit(0x0F) ==> 16bit Manchester(0xAA55) // start byte?
address = 8bit(0x00) ==> 16bit Manchester(0xAAAA) // address byte?
data = 8bit(0xFF) ==> 16bit Manchester(0x5555) // data byte?
checksum = 8bit(0x20) ==> 16bit Manchester(0xA6AA) // total packet byte?

example:
packet[0] = 0xAA // header
packet[1] = 0x55
packet[2] = 0xAA // address
packet[3] = 0xAA
packet[...]

Concept...
* Transmitter: Set a pin to be software UART, then just send bit by bit with delay in between.
example:
while(...)
{
tmpBit <<= packet; // keep looping and bit shift till end of packet
RA0 = tmpBit; // set/clear a pin for sending data
DelayUs(833); // 1200 baudrate = 833uSec/bit
}

* Receiver: Keep receiving data, store in buffer and keep on checking buffer for header?, if this is the right way how to recover the actual clock cycle in C?
example:
while(...)
{