Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

PIC Micros: Best Language?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Q__Hybrid

I'm looking at using PIC Micros for my project, but I don't know which language would be best to use.

I know Assembler is a standard, but it seems hard to understand. Are there many resources on how to create PIC applications in ASM, or is it strictly for pro-level developers?

I know, total newb. I'll learn, I swear.

+Q__

this topic has been debate hundereds of times on this forum and other forums. just like the discussions about PIC Vs AVR or Windows Vs Linux or Intel Vs AMD, this discussion also has no conclusion.

it all depends on you. basic knowledge of assembly is a must. it isnt just for pro-level developer. its for those who want to squeeze each and every ounce of computing power from a PIC microcontroller.

the difference of opinion comes mainly when people ask which language is better Basic or C? well the truth is that it depends on you the programmer. if you know basic then thats good for u and if u know C then C is good for u. i believe that you are familiar with basic (right?). so basic is what you should stick to.

but believe me if you want a career in embedded systems then C definitely looks good on a CV. the reason is that C is a very flexible language and it runs on a variety of different platforms. so if you have time then also learn C. but if that isnt a concern to you then dont go into learning a whole new language.

i hope that helps

Well lets see