Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Pic controlled channel change and led & 7 segment display 0-99

Status
Not open for further replies.

don282

Hi all, I am a new member but I am not a programmer, have been in electronics all my working life mainly in RF.
I am refurbishing/updating some older 2way radios for ham use and need a method of channel changing. Basically I need a replacement for 2 BCD thumbwheel switches. I have rotary switches that have 2 sets of contacts, 1 makes and breaks in one direction and the other makes and breaks in the other direction, these will need to be debounced. I want to use these as the input device. On the other end I need 2 BCD outputs to select the eprom outputs selectable to be active high or active low. My next requirement if possible would be to have each of the BCD outputs drive a 7 segment display and be independant of the active state of the BCD outputs.
I would like to use a PIC if possible (16F84 or similar) I have a pic programmer and have programmed a number of them from someone elses HEX files.
Can anyone point me to someone who may have done this before, I imagine it would have been done many times but it is beyond my programming capabilities. I can visualise what needs to happen but what happens inside the chip no way, I'm lost.
TIA.
Don....

Last edited:
Hi Don,
What you're asking may have been done before, but I couldn't understand all of your description.