Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

PIC and MC ... can both use the same source code?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Zanna

hi..i'm actually very new to this microcontroller stuff...i'm currently doing a project on microcontroller-based gas detector..i found the source code for the program for thegas detector..i'm planning to program the PIC 16F877 however, the code is for the MC68HC908QT1 microcontroller..can the same source code be used?..or is there major difference in the code between these two microcontroller?

For sure the codes are not compatitble.
Try to search for code for PIC, i suppose you could find quite a lot PIC project on net.

sorry, but stupiddum is right... unlike desktop computers, which typically deal with high-level languages for programming, separating you from the hardware, microcontroller programming is very closely related to the hardware, especially when you're writing in assembly. even when using higher-level compilers (C, BASIC, etc), because of the nature of a microcontroller, you're still dealing pretty directly with hardware.

and the hardware of a PIC 16F877 is going to be very different from any motorola device.

at best, you could port the code, but that would take a fair amount of knowledge of both programming languages, at which point it would probably be easier to write it from scratch, or find something similar that's already written for an '877.