Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Parking Space Detection

Status
Not open for further replies.

dmiga

Hello all!

I am an older Computer Engineering student who is taking an embedded systems class. I know basic electronic theory but can figure just about anything out and have not yet built an electronic project with a micro controller. We have a team of four that are working on a "Smart Parking" system.

Basically, we would like to inexpensively detect open spaces in a parking garage and transmit the closest three or four locations (floor #, space #) wirelessly to a Bluetooth (maybe) cell phone inside the vehicle. We plan on using a micro controller like the Basic Stamp. Regardless of the complexity of the wireless, etc., I am doing a feasibility study on the parking space detection.

We need to do this inexpensively to mimic the real-life mass production of a system. We first thought about taking an image with a garage cam then processing it to see contrast of vehicles in spaces but that will not work. We decided the best route would be to apply an inexpensive sensor to each space.