Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Overheating detection and shutdown

Status
Not open for further replies.

SnaRf

Hey all

I am pretty new to electronics, and brand new to the forums.
My highest electronics knowledge is from high school, which is pretty basic..

I am about to embark on building this.
(Circuit attached to this post)
I understand what the whole circuit is supposed to do, but I am having trouble reading it.

I can see that the LM339 comparator has V+ on pin 3 and is grounded on pin 12.
It compares the voltage over pins 4 and 5... I think.

The relay has V+ on pins 5 & 6, and apparently on pin 3 as well (Still looking for a pinout)
(so pin 3 will be used to power the LED's)
When the circuit is powered, pins 7 & 8 will be bridged and pins 3 & 4 and the green LED
will be powered
Thus, R5 would be the resistor to stop the LED's from popping...

So, as the temperature picks up, the resistance in TC1 decreases, allowing more
current to flow through it. The goal of VR1 would be to "bleed" some of the current back
to ground(I think). In doing so, it allows you to customize the amount of current reaching
pin 5 on the LM339. Thus customizing your "high" temperature.

Pin 2 from the LM339 will send a signal to the transistor.
(I am guessing it would be wired up to the collector of the transistor.)
The transistor will then pass the signal on to the relay (pin 1) which will break the
contact between pins 7 & 8 and pins 3 & 4, and make contact between pins 2 & 3