Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Oscilloscope self-test

Status
Not open for further replies.

Matmem

Hi to everyone, I'm new to this forum and this is my first post.

I have little experience with oscilloscopes, the last time I used one was about 5 yrs ago. It was analog without the bells and whistles of digital models.

From what I read digital scopes have "self-test" capability. What exactly are tested during self-test? What is CPP?

Does the self-test include the scopes' calibration?

Thanks, and hope someone can help me.

Something you may be aware of - many scopes, including the old ones, have a 1 kHz square wave source of known amplitude that allow you to connect your probe and adjust the probe - but it can also serve as a self-test. The "self-test" in my own case is more a test of whether or not I've got the scope set correctly.

Matmem said:
Hi to everyone, I'm new to this forum and this is my first post.

I have little experience with oscilloscopes, the last time I used one was about 5 yrs ago. It was analog without the bells and whistles of digital models.

From what I read digital scopes have "self-test" capability. What exactly are tested during self-test? What is CPP?

Never used one, but presumably it checks for responses from the various modules or IC's it's built from - rather like the POST on a PC. Most modern TV's do a similar thing, checking for responses from the I2C bus, and usually displaying an error indication if one fails.

No!.

hi,