Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Nordic Treadmill - board MC2100E REV D ICON 2007

Dipam

Hello,,, I am investigating and repairing a treadmill for a friend. On powering up incline motor fine, when pressing start the mains breaker of the house trips (so a BIG spike I believe)... Motor is P.M.D.C, P/N F-214366 2.5HP 130VDC/1865W... I am an engineer and have product tested for electrical safety in the past for SGS electrical... Anyways. I checked the DC motor, opened it apart, took out the core, cleaned between the copper commutators, checked the resistance between all points. And ran the DC motor on a seperate external DC supply at approx 10-30 V and motor ran smoothly. Brushes are fine. So I checked the removed the D.C motor connection from the board (board is MC2100E REV D ICON 2007). Motor disconnected, power on treadmill ok. When 'start' no tripping. Then I measured the D.C output voltage on the board. Before starting the run with mains power on, there is a 10V D.C reading,, when starting the RUN it reads over 300V (320V) then drops slowly down approx 10V per second from 300... To me this seems very high??? as motor rating is only 130V D.C. Can you advise please?? regards . Dipam

The DC for these units uses a SCR to ramp the voltage up slowly, the DC itself is derived from a Bridge across the incoming AC so it will measure as ~160, but the motor average voltage is controlled by a PWM signal into the Mosfet.