Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

<--noob :) Need help with a Voltmeter/VU Bargraph Lcd display idea

Status
Not open for further replies.

Derick2k

Hi All,

Total noob to lcd displays, pic, uC programming.

I want to be able to monitor/measure 5 dc voltage points that share a
common ground; measure temperature inside of a case ( the DS18S20
Temperature Sensor would be a good choice for this I think) and display
a vu bargraph for l/r channels through a 20x4 character blue backlit LCD
display, attached is an image of the readout layout I'm looking for more
or less.

**broken link removed**

I want to build this circuit to integrate it into an vacuum tube amplifier I
have, where its critical to measure and adjust voltages correctly. So I would
like the the voltage measurements to be as accurate as possible. The
temperature sensor is to keep an eye on the inside case temps. The VU
meter/bargraph I thought to put in there just as eyecandy to the display,
since it iwll be install in an amp :)

The 20x4 is the simplest display I could think of using since its character lcd
display; i would have liked to use a graphic lcd but figured it would be more
difficult to program. I have also attached an earlier graphic lcd display idea I
had, with the required voltage ranges/scale.

**broken link removed**

I was thinking of using a pic like Microchip's PIC18F4550 40 pin DIP which
offers 13 ADC inputs which should be more that enough for all measurement