Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

No accurate readings from a temperature sensor [TC1047A]

Status
Not open for further replies.

mmaters

Hi all,

I'm not an electronics expert, hence I guess my question on this forum.
I'm using a temperature sensor the TC1047A in my project. As A/D Convertor I'm using the H-Tronic HB628 board.

The circuit design as attached (see TC1047A) I "stole" form the documentation of the board. Although the sensor should be calibrated within 1 degree celsius, this doesn't appear to be working in my application. Besides the output not being accurate the output is also fluctuating quite a bit.

The +5V power is derived from a USB laptop connection through the HB628 board.
The distance between the sensor and my experimental board is approx. 50cm and the sensor is connected by 2x a twisted-pair. The last bit to the sensor with "winding-copper", (difficult to solder), since the device is actually an SMD device. See ConnetionSensor for a schematic lay-out how I build this connection. I'm using a mini-jack female at the end that connects to the male variant that goes with 2xtwisted pair again to the experimental-print-board that connects throught a flat-cable to the HB628 board.

I guess the diode is not really necessay, since the original design is using a TC1047 [without the A], which accepts lower-input voltage than the A version. Or does it serve another purpose?

Anyway who can help me and advise me how to improve the performance?

Regards, Martin