Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Newbiest question of all I suppose

Status
Not open for further replies.

duffman

I guess this is about as new as it gets because I am really new to microcontrollers. but I am recently working on a schematic and am hoping to learn more before I get into them. What are micro controllers? How do you program them? Do you need expensive equipment? I alway see this lines of hexcode being given with microcontrollers and I wonder how you get the information into the chip?

duffman said:
I guess this is about as new as it gets because I am really new to microcontrollers. but I am recently working on a schematic and am hoping to learn more before I get into them. What are micro controllers? How do you program them? Do you need expensive equipment? I alway see this lines of hexcode being given with microcontrollers and I wonder how you get the information into the chip?

Have a look at my website below, it gives details of PIC programmers and tutorials.

duffman said:

The answers for your questions can be found down here

**broken link removed**

https://www.microchip.com

take a look to Nigel's tutorial, the link is in his signature

There are many way to program for a microcontroller. However, the first thing you have to get is the programmer. See Nigel tutorial and build your own programmer. It's free. You will know if playing with microcontroller is cheap or expensive.

You may also make PG2C programmer as I post out there, but it's NOT good as Nigel's.