Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Newbie's Point of view

Status
Not open for further replies.

AZdave

As I am learning how to drive a µC I would like to relate my experience to learning how to drive a car.

First I'd like to thank the experienced folks for their inputs to questions asked on this forum. I have learned quite a bit (no pun intended) from reading your replies.

I've heard of the automoble (µC) and hear that it is fun to drive (program). I studied the drivers manual (datasheets) and understand the theory so 'thought' I was ready to drive. I sat down in the drivers seat (started the assembler program) only to find out that I hadn't been told about the key and how to start the car (how/where to start the program). So I got out of behind the driver's seat and walked down to keysmith (Nigel's Tutorials) and learned about the how to start my car. Although I understand the theory of driving (instruction set) and see how to start it I am left with many questions.

1. If the code file is simply a text document can I use any text editor or do I need to use something like MPLAB IDE or Nigel's WinPicProg?

2. The '__CONFIG' line is different from example code to example code. What should, or needs, to be included in this line of code?

3. Where can I find a list of the second and successive code words e.g. bsf STATUS, RP0 so I'll know what they are and what to put behind the opcode (i.e. bsf)?