Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

newbie where do i start?

Status
Not open for further replies.

mearkus

i'm new to electronics...i'm just wondering where do i start...i have experience programming computers(C,VB), however, when it comes to physical hardware such as caps,resistors, etc. i have very little understanding...i got interested in electronics because of the microcontrollers and all the cool things you can do with them...i'm wondering if should go with a beginner microcontroller kit or should get a beginner breadboard kit and develop a solid understanding for the fundametals before i purchase the beginner microcontroller kit...any feedback, websites,etc would be greatly appreciated
thanks for the help

learning electronics

:D hi,

since you are more inclined to computer systems, i suggest you study very well the power supply system for digitals. as you very well know that digital is very sensitive to glitches and spikes and other interferences.

other suggestions are all good. :D

also study well about capacitors coz they play a wide role on digitals :wink:

I would suggest going to Radio Shack or other electronic supply houses, they have experiment kits for beginners. Some of these kits do 100's of projects, these kits will work , you can be successful with little frustration, and when you get comfortable, the other suggestions of a breadboard and a bucket of parts will be more in your grasp.