Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

New to PICs but looking for somewhat simple PIC programmer to build

Status
Not open for further replies.

tdg8934

As stated in the title, I am new to PICs and want to program them in BASIC so I am looking at Swordfish (18F series) and / or MikroBasic for PIC. However, I ordered some samples from Microchip to start with being:

PIC18F4520-I/P
PIC18F4550-I/P
PIC18F2550-I/SP
PIC16LF84A-04I/P

Two of them I beleive are USB based and the 16F84A is more of an older classic.

Anyway, can someone point me to a pic programmer that I can layout on a solderless breadboard (hopefully 5v compliant - e.g. not need 12v or anything higher than 5v).

Thanks.

PS: I have been working with Parallax SX-28 microcontrollers over the last 2 years but never really used PICs before but they should be similar.

you're about to be lightly toasted [as opposed to flamed] for ordering a 16F84 as you will be told it's obsolete. [lots of good web examples though]
for the basic software have a look at oshonsoft's basic/assembler/simulator package https://www.oshonsoft.com/pic18.html
most parallel port programmers use more than 5v for vpp generation, serial port ones are able to get vpp from the port. i've seen a couple of parallel port ones which generate vpp from 5v supply with extra components. you'll need to check programmer hardware/software compatibility with the chips ordered, different vpp/algorithms.

tdg8934 said: