Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

new here psu design question

Status
Not open for further replies.

adamjclark

hello all, This is my first post here. I am pretty new to electronics and I have a very basic understanding. I am building my own psu. Heres what I want. I would like to have a 1.5-30vdc 5a dual supply with adjustable voltage and current. I want to use as much stuff for it as I can that I already have. I made a schematic that uses 4 lm317's with pass transistors and an lm308 for the voltage regulator circuit. My transformer has 3 sec. coils. the HV sec. with center tap is 44.5vac, the other 2 doesn't have center taps and one is 38.5vac and 8vac. Im using a mb354-w bridge rectifier that is 40-100v at 35a. after the rectifier the HV sec is 62vdc. this is where the problem starts. the max input for the 317's is 30vdc and the 308 is 18vdc. I need to step down the voltage from 62 to 30 without limiting the current. I have a few other issues but this is the first and most important one I need to get past before I can move on. Thanks

hi and welcome! first a warning i am very young and pretty new to electronics myself so dont take what i say as gospel, but from a quick read of the datasheet i cant see a problem. from the datasheet it says