Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

new guy here....creating a counter circuit.

Status
Not open for further replies.

metalmckanical

Hello everyone. New to the site, seems very informative and helpful. I am also new to electronics.

I’m hoping you guys can help me out. I am building a counter circuit based off the Icm7225 triggered from an optical sensor such as a photomicrosensor from omron or other optical sensor. This is going to count how many rotations a shaft turns, basically a unit counter.
The data sheet say it counts with every negative transition. Does it mean it uses a neg. voltage -5v instead of a pos. voltage +5v ?
I plan on using something like this for a sensor.
would this sensor work? would it directly connect with the chip?
oh this sensor is a NPN should I use a PNP?
If possible would someone please draw a schematic showing how to make this counter? if drawing it is to big of a hassle I understand.

Thank you in advance, lots of questions I know.
I did search this forum but did not find the answer.

If anybody has questions about building computers or computer related questions please feel free to ask. hopefully I can help

The data sheet say it counts with every negative transition. Does it mean it uses a neg. voltage -5v instead of a pos. voltage +5v ?

No, what they are telling you is that the count increments when the incoming clock pulse goes negative (negative transition from logic high to logic low). As to the sensor:

■ Features