Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Need to Convert Speaker-out to Line-out

Status
Not open for further replies.

Alex Ethridge

This is my first time here and my first time to post. I am not an electronic experimenter and beyond Ohm's law, I know very little about assembling electronic circuits.

I have a project I'm working on that requires me to get the sound from a 8-ohm speaker-out trerminal on an old sound movie projector to the line-in on a VCR. I have no desire to build a circuit like this myself as one mistake could end in the ruining of a perfectly good VCR. I am looking for something commercially available that has already been built and tested by experts.

Some time back, someone told me I needed an attenuator (spelling?) cable. I got one; but, I am afraid to use it as I subsequently discovered that an attenuator cable is supposedly for converting speaker-out to mic, not speaker-out to line-out.

I have searched the internet and have come up with nothing. Perhaps I don't know what search terms to use. In any case, I'm lost on this.

Can someone here help me?

All you probably need is a simple resistive attenuator, this is probably what's in the lead you bought. The only potential problem is how the projector might be wired.

As you already have a lead, I would plug it in and try it - if it's for a microphone input the only difference is the degree of attenuation, but the AGC in the VCR (and turning the volume up on the projector) should take care of that.