1. Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.
    Dismiss Notice

Need to Add a Couple of Solder Pads to an Eagle Board - How is this done, please?

Discussion in 'Circuit Simulation & PCB Design' started by Analogue Robot, Nov 17, 2010.

  1. Analogue Robot

    Analogue Robot Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes:
    0
    Hello.

    I need to add a couple of solder pads (power supply contacts) to a circuit board designed using Eagle.

    Having read the so-called "manual" (which, frankly, I find next to useless) I do not know how this is done.

    - I thought I'd alreadly included them in the schematic, but upon converting it into a board, they were unconnected. For the first time in my life, I will use an emoticon to signify the degree of fury I am experiencing currently: :mad:

    Can anyone explain the procedure in relatively simple language, please?

    - Analogue.
     
  2. DirtyLude

    DirtyLude Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,904
    Likes:
    56
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    There's a library of solder pads called solpad. Add one of the pads to your schematic and connect it to a power net.

    There are lots of tutorials for Eagle. Not all that useful for looking up specific functionality, but good for learning just about everything you need for basic board design. Sadly their support forum is a newsgroup, but it is well used and there are lots of people on it.
     
  3. Analogue Robot

    Analogue Robot Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes:
    0
    Thanks for explaining that, DirtyLude. - I'll give it a try.

    - Analogue.
     
  4. dave

    Dave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 1997
    Messages:
    -
    Likes:
    0


     
  5. shortbus=

    shortbus= Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,231
    Likes:
    77
    Location:
    youngstown, oh

    Assuming you already have your board etched ;

    If there are actual pads that aren't connected to your traces - Strip your wire extra long, run it through the hole in the board, solder to the pad, then bend the extra wire over to the trace and solder to the trace.

    If no pad - drill a hole close to your trace, strip the wire extra long, bend the strip over to the trace and solder to the trace.
     
  6. Mosaic

    Mosaic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,623
    Likes:
    129
    Location:
    Caribbean
    To add power & signal pads etc I use the Wirepad library in eagle. It has much more variety than SOLPAD, including SMD pads. U can connect em in the schematic etc. to form part of your design and work with the DRU.
     
  7. Analogue Robot

    Analogue Robot Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes:
    0
    @ DirtyLude - delved into Solpad and fixed the problem. - Thanks.

    @ shortbus= - I haven't produced the physical board yet, it was a difficulty with getting the pads to connect in Eagle itself. But thanks for taking the time to assist.

    @ Mosaic - just looked at Wirepad: plenty of possible pads there. - Thanks.
     

Share This Page