Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

need suggestions on uni project. (mechatronics project)

Status
Not open for further replies.

konzen

guys, i'm a 2nd year engineering student majoring in mechatronics and i found this forum while looking for ideas for my design project.

basically we're supposed to build a machine that at a push of button will start launching 'seeds' to the left and right into designated patches on the track while travelling on an L-shaped track which has an overall length of about 5 meters. the machine has to stop at the end of the track. points will be deducted if our machine rolls off the track.

all the different systems of the machine have been planned. push button > machine moves and launches seeds > cut power to motor and brakes are applied. my team members and i have opted to electronically switch from one stage to the other but i am now having problems as to how this can really be done. i am not very good at applying my electrical and electronic knowledge in real life yet so any suggestions are most welcome. thanks for your time.

okay my machine's operation is basically divided into a few stages,

1. push a button (START)
2. the vehicle travels along an L-shape track while launching 'seeds' left and right into pre-determined patches on the track.
3. because the machine can't roll off the track after its operation(pts deducted), power must be cut from the main motor
4. brakes are applied to completely bring the vehicle to a stand still(END)