Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Need help with input circuit for reset line for Deep Sleep for 8266

Status
Not open for further replies.

tjodork

1644082334583.png

the reset pin on the 8266 must be pulled low (<.8v) to bring it out of deep sleep.
I'm trying to make a battery operated water sensor. When there is water between the 2
leads the resistance is around 600K - 1.5M.
Although I'm an electrical engineer I cant say I understand transistors...
Is there a way with a transistor circuit to pull that reset line low WHEN
the resistance on the water leads goes from OPEN to 600K-1.5M ?
Or any other suggestions on a method to accomplish this, preferable where
it doesn't use power when no water is present : )
Thanks much for any help
tim

O

There are two problems that I can see:
You need a separate high-impedance input circuit with a greater-than-1M pullup resistor to sense the water probe, and that in turn switch the reset system.

Also, I believe the reset pin must be pulled low and released to high level again, to restart the MCU from sleep.

That would mean using a schmitt trigger stage from the water detector to produce a fast level transition, then a capacitor-resistor edge edge detector into the reset control.

You could do both with a couple of sections of such as a 4093 or 40106 (or 74HC14) schmitt input gates.