Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Need help on some basics

Status
Not open for further replies.

verbatim68

First of all, I'm an electrical engineer that has spent the last 15 years working as a mechanical, so although I'm sure I know a lot of these things in the back of my brain someplace, or could look them up in my old textbooks, I'm also chronically lazy as evidenced by the fact that I pretty much slept through all my classes anyways. Hence the reason I'm here asking some very simple question.

First a description of the circuit I'm trying to build (haven't actually even started yet). I want to make my motorcycle keyless. I have found an RFID system that works by firing a supplied 12v relay when the rfid tag comes in range. They sell it specifically for motorcycles, but I want to add a logic circut rather than just running it in series with the kill switch for a number of reasons that I don't want to bore people here with. Essentially, I want to make it so that the ignition doesn't come on until a certain sequence of events happens. The same goes for shutting the ignition off.

I've sketched out my circuit using the required logic gates and a couple of relays and it's pretty simple, but I think it should do the job. I imagine I'll convert it to a nand gate arrangement.

Okay, now here are my questions: