need help: 0V triggered circuit to generate 5V

Status
Not open for further replies.

harryperales

need help: negative going pulse triggered circuit to generate 5V

hi guys,
im very new to electronic stuff. i just would like to know if is it possible to generate a 5V voltage from a single short pulse signal of 12V (50ns duration).

i need help for some sort of circuit to receive the 12V short pulse and have the circuit generate a steady 5V which i will use to power another TTL circuit.

regards,

harry

Last edited:
ooopsss, sorry my bad.

i mean a 12V short pulse signal from an electronic coinslot that i have. i need to be able to generate a 5V from this to power another TTL based logic circuit which would in turn communicate with my PC via parallel port

i just would like to know if is it possible to generate a 5V voltage from a single short pulse signal of 12V (50ns duration).
Unless the 12V is from a very low impedance source you won't be able to generate much 5V power from a single 50ns pulse.

generate a 5V from this to power another TTL based logic circuit which would in turn communicate with my PC via parallel port
Do you actually mean that the 12V/50nS pulse needs to power the Vcc of the circuit, or just trigger the 5V input in a circuit that is already powered by a 5V power supply?

Ken

50ns from an electronic coin slot??? I've used coin mechs (standard and electronic) and even built optical coin detectors - none of them had that brief of a pulse.

Do you actually mean that the 12V/50nS pulse needs to power the Vcc of the circuit, or just trigger the 5V input in a circuit that is already powered by a 5V power supply?

Ken

i just need to use the single pulse generated by the coin slot to trigger the power on another circuit, because it already has it's own supply

there is only a single pulse from the electronic coinslot... variable from 20ns, 45ns and 60ns

hi,