Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Need guidance for horizontal positioning of a plane using a IMU

Status
Not open for further replies.

cybertooth

Hello everyone. I am fairly new to Arduino. I am trying to make a device which could be mounted on a stick to find the horizontal plane.I have read a lot about IMU sensors and have made a digital compass using MPU 6050. I have noticed that the readings tend to change even on a stationary surface i have used kalman filter in the code and it gives some stabilization . I have come across BNO055 sensor which claims to give an absolute reading also invesense has an IMU 9050.
My Doubts:
1) Are BNO0055 and invesense9050 better sensors.
2) Is it practically possible to get a true horizontal position with an IMU sensor. ie x=180,y=0,z=0.

It's impossible to get any absolute value. There will always be an error. Just deside what error you can work with and aim for that. In your example would 1/10th of a degree be acceptable?

Mike.

You only need a 2-axis accelerometer to find what is level. Many accelerometers are 3-axis, so you may end up using one of those. There is no advantage in having a device that measures magnetic fields or angular velocities as well.

An accuracy of 1 mg (1/1000 g, or 0.01 m/s2) will give you an angular accuracy of 1/20 of a degree.

Most accelerometers will have a noisy output that is improved by filtering for the speed of response that you want.