Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

My 1st project - Solar powered led grid with leds and light sensor

Status
Not open for further replies.

murmundone

I'm a newbie in electronics, sometimes i do smaller projects, repair minor stuff. I would like to learn more about circuits, and calculating the structures needed. I study product design, so i'm interested in this stuff at every level. Any help appriciated.

We have a school project, we designed concrete covers for the bottom of traffic sign poles to protect them from cars running them over. The design features a lighting, powered by a solar panel and activated by a light sensor swich.

The questions i have: If i would like to power up 30 pcs of 3V 20 ma LED-s with a solar panel, and use a light sensor to activate and deactivate the lighting, what kind of/performance solar panel should i use, how big performance battery do I need to store the power, and what kind of light sensor do i need to complete the deal, finally: How do i put it together into a foolproof system, this will be cast into concrete.

I live in Europe, Hungary

Any help appriciated!

There is no such thing as a fool proof system. They will always be able to produce a bigger fool.

First, I would make sure it has a gasketed access cover. If you build more than a few, some WILL fail, and you would either have to throw the whole thing away or just accept that you didn't need it in the first place.