Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.
Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi all,

I am a novice self-taught electronics enthusiast. I have been considering how to send x number of digital data lines into a microcontroller that has y data lines, where x > y. The way I've chosen to do this is to use an output line to turn on one of two transistors that are mutually exclusive. That will connect either M or N to the relevant data line. This idea can be propagated across all the data lines, thereby effectively doubling the number of possible inputs at the expense of one output data line.

multiplex.JPG

1. Is this the basic method by which multiplexing is done?
2. There will be a propagation delay through the NOT gate, but not on the M side of the circuit. Should I be worried about this?
3. There will be a current from base to emitter through the transistor that is active, even if the current-emitter junction has no current. This will mean that the data line will always read as true unless I account for it. How do I account for it?

Thanks in advance,

Richard

Hi all,

This is following from my 'Multiplexing' post in which I try to figure out how to select one of two pathways to be placed into a circuit. I was imagining that the X-Y part of this schematic might be part of a resistor ladder, where a resistor is either swapped in or out of a series of circuit-parts. I have attempted to sketch, using resistor-transistor logic, what this circuit might look like.
selector.JPG