Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Motor ON/OFF Trigger to Arduino

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nikhil_M

Hello,

I am a beginner at using Arduino.

I wish to do a very simple project.

If a user turns ON a water motor pump, it should give a trigger to my Arduino UNO.

Arduino will note the Motor ON time and date.

If a user turns OFF a water motor pump, it should again give a trigger to my Arduino UNO.

Arduino will note the Motor OFF time and date.

Please help me how can I detect motor ON/OFF and save the data using Arduino.

The safest way is if the motors switch has a spare Pole that you can connect to the Arduino which keeps the circuits isolated from each other.

To record the time and date you need a DS1307 or the better DS3231 Real Time Clock module, both have extra EEprom memory on board to record the events if you use up all your Ardunio EEprom.

001023.jpg

You can use your UNO to :

1) Measure a V from pump switch to create trigger. Use an opto coupler
to isolate pump switch voltage from UNO.

2) Use a shaft disk and optocoupler to count pulses (RPM) to create trigger.
iu

3) Use a optical flow sensor.
iu

4) use a pump switch with additional contacts UNO can generate its own trigger from.

5) Use a pump centrifugal switch on shaft to UNO.

If you need a separate processor to develop the trigger could use an ATTINY85 and
mBlock to do the counting/Vmeasure/sensor interface, here is example sensing V -

1643028538343.png