Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Modifying RBG LED Ribbon for 5V Input

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mike44

Hi guys! Yes, another newbie here to ask questions - but have been hanging around here as a guest reading over some threads for a while. Very helpful forum and a ton of great information!

Anyways, I figured it was time for a question of my own. I currently have a little project that I'd like to do involving RGB LED Ribbon lighting but couldn't find too much info on what I need to do. Right now I'm in the 'theoretical' stage! This is the ribbon I am talking about:

**broken link removed**

**broken link removed**

These strips are rated for a 12V input. However, I currently only have a 5V input (via a USB cable from a computer) which I would like to be able to use to power it. I e-mailed the retailer and he said these may not even light up with 5V, but said that I should not try to change anything with them and instead get a 12V input source. Well, that kind of answer is unacceptable - especially on this kind of forum!! lol. Anything can be done! My best guess is that the ratings of the SMD resistors are the cause for why it will not light up (or be very dim) at 5V. They are probably rated to deliver a safe amount of power to the LED's with a 12V input.