Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Microcontroller Questions

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm starting to work on some microprocessors/microcontrollers and I'm a compete noob so no big words please.

I'm writing some programs using c++, having read some basic PIC programming I have realized that c++ isn't exactly compatible with a large number of microcontrollers, namely I've never needed to code for PICs before. I'm a noob in programming too, so that's why I made this oversight. Having said that in currently stumped on the following questions:

1.) What type of high level languages are common for microcontroller programming? Basic, what else

2.) C++ is that realistically only an option for chips like Intel and AMD for personal computers?

3.) What about java? Are there any microprocessors that exist that run on Java? Given that Java is a run time language, how is that a problem for real time applications? Apart from the fact that it might lag. I'm thinking more from the perspective of java being write popular.

4.) Is there an easy easy way of converting c++ to other languages? Like Basic? I'm guessing no but doesn't hurt to ask!