Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Microcontroller chip protection techniques

Status
Not open for further replies.

fastline

I am pretty new to MCs but I do know every pin is a little sensitive and one lost pin will ruin an entire circuit. For that reason, I am trying to learn a bit about how circuits are typically protected against short circuits, over currents, etc? If there is an existing tutorial or manual for stuff like this (I obviously did not take enough EE classes in school), I would invite that as well.

Right now I typically use series resistor on about everything wtih low wattage in hopes of using the resistor as a fuse. However, this lowers the voltage thus must be accounted for. I am not sure if I am on the right path here and if there are other MC failure modes I need to learn about?

I have never used a Zener as a current limiter but i am working on a project where I will likely have two devices that will need some level of current limiting for proper protection. Outside of a Zener, the only other way I know is using a power resistor which is not very finite.

I guess when I work up a circuit, I try to imagine every way it can be damaged and make sure that about every switch is protected so if shorted, does not do damage. I am sure there are some smarter ways to do these things though, I am just not familiar.

Last edited: