Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Low voltage disconnect (kinda)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barwick

Hey, I'm fairly new to electronics, and I'm looking to put a 12V electric cooler in my car to keep some drinks cool all the time. I've looked into it, and I think I can keep them fairly cool without requiring a spare battery (although I might want one, but that's a whole other story).

The problem is, the car battery isn't a deep cycle, so I don't want to draw much power from it while the car is off. So I want a circuit that controls the cooler as such:

When car is running (electrical system is around 14.3 volts), power is allowed through to the cooler (max 4A @ 12V DC).

When car is not running, one of two things can happen:
If battery is fully charged, allow power through to the cooler. As it sits right now, it's at I think 12.36 Volts with the car not running.
If battery is discharged slightly, but still in the "safe" zone (I don't know what voltage to use for this), don't allow any more power through to the cooler (this will prevent the battery from discharging too much).

I was thinking, probably the best way is to have some sort of circuit that will send a small power signal to a 10A automotive relay to tell the relay to close. Then, when the voltage is below X volts (say 12.2 or something), it will stop sending that power signal to the relay, and the relay will automatically open, disconnecting power from the cooler.