Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

low cost 2m portable repeater

Status
Not open for further replies.

dy2mpl

hi to all,
i am an amateur radio enthusiast and i want to build a simple low cost 2m portable repeater to be use by our group of amateurs can anyone help me?please do include an schematic diagram of the circuit, tnx and good day to all

Last edited:
The words Simple, Lowcost, and Portable are not usually used in connection with 145Mhz repeaters.

First of all we will disregard the licencing issues, I dont know how it works in your country.
Technically the first consideration is the antenna(s) and the Tx/Rx frequency spacing.
The usual frequency spacing is 600khz, and if you want to use a single antenna for Tx and Rx you will need a duplexer with about 80/90dB isolation between transmit and receive ports.
Such duplexers are not simple, lowcost or portable.

You will need separate transmitter and receiver.
The receiver will need good overall screening and good filtering in the RF stages.
The transmitter will need good overall screening and low phase noise to prevent swamping the receiver.

Depending on the application, you will need some control logic and a callsign generator, there are various designs around on the web.

Jim GM3ZMA

Last edited: