Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Logic Gates Confusion

Status
Not open for further replies.

Musicmanager

Morning Guys

Firstly, please bear in mind I'm a complete novice taken up a new hobby and trying to get my head round some very confusing stuff. I divide my hobby time between building a project I've already thought through and planned with the help of you guys and thinking through, planning and understanding the next project.

My next 'thinking project' is to do with countdown timers. I built a countdown timer based on a PIC 16F628a which counts down from 5 discreet bases 8, 16, 24, 32 & 40 mins using code provided for me by a Picprojects kit which works very well. I now want to understand how to build a countdown kit with 7 segment LED displays which can be preset to the same bases and will display the countdown. I've got a schematic drawn by one of the members on here which uses a 74LS192 IC up/down controller and I decided the best thing to do first was to understand how that chip does what it does ! I downloaded the datasheet which has a narrative of it's operation and also a graphic circuit diagram of the logic gates contained. I've read the chapters on logic gates in my books 47 times and decided I was now ready to try and understand the chip.