Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

LM324N problem!

Status
Not open for further replies.

kpsg25690

Hey all!
Since this is my first post i should introduce myself..
My name Karan and i am an engineering student.

I have been working on a project on a project that requires a comparator.
I am using LM324n as a comparator and the circuit is working correctly.

I am using a +5V supply power to the ic but when the output is high i get around 2.1V on the output pin,which is enough to drive an LED but i want to give this output to a PIC18F4520 which will not identify 2.1V as high.

What do i do?
I have tried using a 12V supply for the IC also without any change.

I've been at it for some time and need some help...

It would help us a lot if you would post a schematic of your project, showing what you have connected to what. (Hand-drawn is fine if nothing else).

Do you have the LED connected to the output without a resistor? That will probably give you about that voltage.

Do you have the LED connected to the output without a resistor? That will probably give you about that voltage.

I agree, if the output of the LM324 is directly driving the LED sans a series resistor with the LED it sounds to me like you are seeing the forward voltage drop across the LED. Place a resistor in series with the LED and measure the voltage at the output pin. Has it increased? Start with about a 100 Ohm resistor.

Ron

Thanks for the reply guys!