Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

listening to uk emergency services on standard radio

Status
Not open for further replies.

sterrick

hi, im new to this malercky but once upon a time i took an old FM radio to pieces and started to fiddle with the chip board.

On the board was a micro chip so i got a piece of wire and started to link the pins on either side of the chip together, when i did this i started to receive foreign (ie, indian, french etc) radio receptions. i then started to to turn some screw heads (the ones in the little silver boxes on the board) and to my amazement i could hear my local police at what i think was there main headquarters communjicating with patrols.

what i would like to know is, is there a more accurate/stable explanation for this and does anyone know how i can do this more easily as i have only ever been able to do this once, maybe beginners luck i think.

also is there any1 else who has been able to hear fone calls (once in a blue moon) on long wave 252. also i have only ever heard this once while listening to my hifi at home, an explanation too would be great.

thanx to all you who have gave me your time to read this as it has been playing on my mind for a bout a year now. thx again :x