Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Latching circuit help please

Status
Not open for further replies.

Spikes

Hello all,

I am a novice trying to build a circuit that will extend and retract a double action pneumatic cylinder. I have a fob operated 12V DC 10A 433MHz relay switch module that has four separate buttons / relays on board, of which I would use two for the extend and retract cycles of the cylinder. The module would deliver a momentary voltage to the relay to latch it and then turn off. The latching relays are Bosch style 40A automotive relays.

The valve being used is a single inlet double acting, double solenoid valve that feeds one side of the cylinder while venting the other. It has a center resting position that stops all airflow and holds the ram either extended or retracted when power is disconnected.

I'm using a pressure switch similar to that of an air compressor, it has two independent sets of contacts, one of which would be used for this circuit. When a button is pressed, I need the appropriate relay to latch and power the air solenoid for that stroke, the compressor to come on and everything stay on until the set amount of pressure has been reached in the cylinder, then everything turn off. The compressor has a one way valve inline and naturally bleeds it's cylinder pressure off ready for the next start-up.