L293D H-Bridge: Is it effective to run a small DC motor in a model

Status
Not open for further replies.

rancid rock

hey,

I was wondering if the L293D H-Bridge is effective in running a small DC motor for a model representation of a door.

If not, have you found a another H-Bridge that could do this job effectively and simply.

because apparently the L293D is capable of running a stepper motor !

thanks,

I don't know much about h-bridges but there are many posts on this forum about h-bridges and from what i can gather the h-bridge can run a dc motor forwards and backwards and i can see no reason why it should not work for your task. The L293D is very commonly used for driving stepper motors and dc motors.

i suppose it depends upon the specifications of your motor,

DC operating voltage?
current draw?

i'm no expert on h-bridges.

hope this helps

don't forget a reverse biased diode across the windings to prevent counter electro motive force.

rancid, you need to tell us what current your motor will pull. if it's a small motor, I'd bet the current level will be fairly small and thus the L293D will work just fine. You will only need 1/2 of it, by the way.

I built a servo to drive a small antenna using LM324 op amp, so power is not necessarily needed.

Russlk said:
I built a servo to drive a small antenna using LM324 op amp, so power is not necessarily needed.

It's got to have been an absolutely tiny motor?, an LM324 can provide hardly any current at all? - I'm doubtful there's a motor that low power? (that could move anything worthwhile).

Nigel Goodwin said:
It's got to have been an absolutely tiny motor?, an LM324 can provide hardly any current at all? - I'm doubtful there's a motor that low power? (that could move anything worthwhile).