Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

JMD Programmer Prob - Programming Voltage

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kamikaze47

Hi,

I'm new to PICs, and to get myself started I built the JMD serial PIC programmer, but when I try to program a 16F84A PIC, I get the error "Verify failed at address 0000h !".

I think i've tracked the problem to the programming voltage. During programming, the _MCLR pin is only at 6.3v.

Anyone have any suggestions?

Kamikaze47 said:
Hi,

I'm new to PICs, and to get myself started I built the JMD serial PIC programmer, but when I try to program a 16F84A PIC, I get the error "Verify failed at address 0000h !".

I think i've tracked the problem to the programming voltage. During programming, the _MCLR pin is only at 6.3v.

Anyone have any suggestions?

Use a parallel port programmer instead!, the JDM is well known for it's problems.

Kamikaze47 said:
I would, but my PC doesnt have an avaliable parallel port.

So i'm kinda out of ideas :(

Either use a 'proper' serial port programmer, although these are the most expensive ones!, or search the internet for varients on the JDM programmer - there are lOAD'S of sites with improved versions, basically providing it with a proper power supply.

If you're using a laptop that could well explain your problem, the JDM programmer relies on the computer having an above spec serial port, and laptops are usually way below RS232 spec.

Kamikaze47 said: