Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Jargon Buster

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cagao

Hi,

I'm new to PIC programming but slowly getting there. Currently exploring the 12F675 on microchips PICKit 1.

One thing I'm having trouble with is all the jargon in the data-sheets.

Does anyone know of any nice simple descriptions for things. Take the following list as an example...

interrupt-on-change - what's it used for?
Weak pull-up
output 'latch'
port - just another word for a pin?
pins set to Hi/Lo (impedance)

Answers to these directly would be greatly appreciated, but it'd be nice if there was a page or 2 somewhere to help complete newbies like myself.

Thanks,

Rob

Interrupt on change means just that- when there is a state transition on the pin it activates an interrupt. I am unsure of how this is different from a regular interrupt pin though- unless the difference between the two is one triggers on a transition and the other triggers on a high

weak-pull up- the pull-up resistor has a large value so less currenti s flowign through it which makes it easier to make the line low

output latch- latches the output at a certain logic state
port- it's a bunch of pins that are grouped into the same "port"
pins- hi and low are obvious, high impedence (you can think of impedance as resistance in this case) effetively means the pin has been disconnected from the internal silicon and has no logic state.