Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Is there a cheap alternative for step-down transformers?

Status
Not open for further replies.

einstamas

Hello, dear forum members. I am an electronics student but most likely i learn it in my freetime.
I am working on a light project, and i need to convert 230V AC to 5-12V AC or DC(building a rectifier isn't really hard), but i need a high current of 15-20 amps on the secondary coil of the transformer. I found some transformers which are capable of this, but they are pretty expensive for me.

Is there a way of "transforming" down voltages without using a transformer? I was thinking about thing such as PWM with a capacitor on it, but i don't even know if that would work and i guess it wont be capable of supplying me a current this high.

I've seen some chinese LED light bulbs working without a transformer, and i am thinking about it for a long time.
I know the most secure way would be to use a transformer, and if there is no other option i will do that. But i am really curious if there is another way to solve this problem.

Thanks for the read and for any help! Have a nice day!

Is there a way of "transforming" down voltages without using a transformer? I was thinking about thing such as PWM with a capacitor on it, but i don't even know if that would work and i guess it wont be capable of supplying me a current this high.

I've seen some chinese LED light bulbs working without a transformer, and i am thinking about it for a long time.