Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Is the electrolyt capacitor really shown in the right direction?

Status
Not open for further replies.

maystorm

Hi folks,

I am currently studying some of the material at talkingelectronics.com and came across this circuit:

(http://www.talkingelectronics.com/projects/FlasherCircuits/Page83FlasherCircuitsP1.html)

I am not an expert in electronics, however, I have the feeling that the E-Cap (10u) is inserted the wrong way (+ and - should be swapped). Is someone willing to enlighten me? ;)

TIA,
Alexander

The LHS (-ve) is connected to the base of the NPN, so can't go higher than +0.7V, the RHS (+ve) is connected to the collector of the PNP, so can got to +6V minus the voltage drop of the LED, so about +4V, so it's the right way round. It's basically a variation on a multivibrator.

Thanks for the reply.

However, what happens if the NPN gets damaged and doesn't turn ON anymore? Wouldn't the LHS (cathode) then be reverse-biased to +6v?

I just made some google search and found a number of circuits which look like this:

Here, the E-cap is just the other way around. I am bit puzzled now, at least. :confused:

I just made some google search and found a number of circuits which look like this:

View attachment 118680

Here, the E-cap is just the other way around. I am bit puzzled now, at least. :confused: