Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Interfacing a normal radio to computer (PC radio)

Status
Not open for further replies.

pratchit

Hello everyone

I am a new member and this is my first post.

I am an electronics student and want to make this project for final year

The idea is simple. Make a radio and listen to it on the computer

I thought of 2 ways. Use pots etc to ctrl the volume and station on the circuit made...or have a GUI/software side to digitally do that, which i guess will require a microcontroller.

I also guess a serial port interface will be necessary (not found in lappies) or a usb.

Please, i would like this thread to 'brainstorm' on this idea and make this project possible.

Bye

PS: this was posted on the radio forum too due to oversight!

What you are looking to do isn't exactly new. There have been PCI slot cards and serial interface cards around for years for home computers that contain radios. Years ago ATI Technologies Inc. was a leader in graphics cards that could recieve either cable TV or OTA (Over The Air) TV and Radio including standard 88 to 108 MHz FM radio broadcast. Matter of fact the old ATI All In Wonder X1800 card comes to mind as to old analog OTA TV signals and FM Radio. The software included a nice GUI including the tuner and volume as well as other controls. Beyond standard cards like this there also plenty of ham radio transceivers out there designed to interface with computers and provide a GUI for the user.