Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Interface Pic --> Max232 --> GSM Modem

Status
Not open for further replies.

LogX

Hi..
I'm new to PIC.
I'm trying to interface PIC and GSM Modem using Max 232.
How to initialize the modem and Max232 (using assembly)?

PIC16F873A
Modem: MOD 9001 GSM/GPRS

Plz reply ASAP.
Thank You.

Do you know how to program in assembly?

You should read this:

Look at Tutorial 7, it is related to RS232.

You dont need to "initialise" the max232, it acts a "transparent" chip.

Wilksey

You need to learn the AT commands, download the AT command set for your module, then you can send them out on the UART using the code on Nigel's tutorial pages.

Wilksey

Thanks alot Wilksey for your guidances..
I need one more help.
How to use sms that we sent to modem (modem goes to pic) to control our system?
For example, send 1 to ON the system, 2 to off the system, 3 to ON the light etc..
Let say we send 1, how shd i programe the code in PIC to receive the sms and react accordingly?

Hi LogX...

try first to read SMS correctly by your chip... it's so simple just use the AT commands of ur mobile
when that's done , think to treat data according to commands you defined

As fermat7 has said, you need to look up the AT command set for your modem, ideally you would want text mode not PDU.

PDU Causes unecessary headaches!
Wilksey

Ok..
Im still having problem at the receiving part.
When i connected PIC to pc n tested with PIC Simulator it works, but
with modem it doesnt works.